Daughters of the World

A couple of weeks ago, we had the privilege of hosting two girls in our home for a weekend.  You can read a little about that here. Two 9-year-old girls came into our home and our hearts.  One of them was from Nepal, the other from the Philippines.  It could not have been more fulfilling, more heart-warming, more moving for me.

First, these girls were extremely well behaved.  They had manners, cleaned up after themselves, actually went to bed at bed time. They were just wonderful. It showed me that my children are capable of much more than I think they are.

These girls were the sweetest children I’ve ever met. They had kind hearts and were happy children.  They have only been in the US for about five months, so there were lots of things that were still new to them.  They were uncertain about some foods, but they tried them.  They told us what they liked and we made sure to get as much of that as possible. Chicken and rice, spaghetti, pizza, and ice cream were favorites.

We took them to a Christmas light exhibit near our home, Magical Nights of Lights at Lake Lanier Islands. They loved seeing the lights and we were also able to stop and see the live nativity.  They said that was their favorite.  We also took a short side trip to the Santa Land area where we all rode a carnival ride.  This was a first for our girls.  They both wanted to ride it before, but after it was over, they politely said no to a second ride.  On the way home we picked up drive through food at McDonald’s.  Of course they enjoyed that.

We also had a great opportunity to go to the Georgia Aquarium for the day where the children sang.  Then we all took a tour of the facility with them. It was moving to see them see animals in that setting for the first time.  I’m thankful my boys and I were given the chance to share this with them.

The most fun we had with them, was just hanging out at home. We played board games, colored, made bracelets, and more.  The girls loved chasing the boys around. The last night they were with us we all cuddled up in my bed and read stories to each other.  I was very sad to see them go, but very thankful for the experience.

They continue on their tour around the US and then they will return to their home countries.  The children are given college scholarships in exchange for their time on the tour. They will be able to attend a school in their country.  The whole experience is good for them.

I still miss those girls and if I could have, I would have kept them. The joy they exude was contagious.

The big take away lesson for me was seeing my own children as I see those girls.  My boys need to be hugged and cuddled.  They need my patience, just like I gave the girls when there was a miscommunication.  I want kindness and patience to become a natural part of our life.

We’ll try to keep up with these little ladies as much as possible.  We can write letters to them while they are in the US and hopefully we’ll be able to keep up with them after they return home.  Consider donating to World Help and giving children around the world a chance at life and hope.

IMG_7111

 

IMG_7249

 

IMG_7202

One thought on “Daughters of the World

Leave a comment