Broken Legs Are Stupid

This has been a busy month for us. We’ve been winding down from a great school year and getting ready for a fun summer with the family.  Last Saturday we were having a family dinner at my parents’ place. Riding the ATV, eating BBQ, and playing in the woods. At the end of the night, my youngest sister and I decided we wanted to see what the ATV/Mule could do. Well, she absolutely cannot handle being driven in tight circles.

Sister was driving, took a turn too tight, and the Mule flipped over on my leg.  It was a little chaotic for a few minutes, but thankfully she lifted it off my leg and I scooted away.  My other sister, an ER Trauma nurse, and her Firefighter husband were there, so they went into rescue mode.  I was at the ER in about 30 minutes and out within 2 hours.  Thankfully, she was fine and walked away with a few bruises.

I have a clean break on my fibula and will probably be in a walking cast for about six weeks.  Which is kind of stupid, because I can’t walk on my right leg. I can’t drive. I can’t stand up.  I have a set of crutches, thanks to my sweet friend Shonda. I’m just starting to really get the hang of them and my arm muscles are getting jacked! They actually come in handy for more than walking, like when I need the boys’ attention or trying to make a point.

I’m going out tomorrow to practice driving with my left foot, because I have kids who need to get to school. My mother is amazing and she’s been helping with everything, including getting up way too early for a happy retiree.  Hopefully, healing will happen quickly and I’ll be back in full force before too long. Not sure I’ll be taking any rides with the little sister for a while though.

Before the accident, we were so happy and nobody was broken.

Before the accident, we were so happy and nobody was broken.

 

In the ER on the left and later that night at home on the right. Elevation is my friend.

In the ER on the left and later that night at home on the right. Elevation is my friend.

 

This is a mule, she is not made for tight circles and "mudding." She likes to carry around children at a leisurely pace.

This is a mule, she is not made for tight circles and “mudding.” She likes to carry around children at a leisurely pace.

Leave a comment